Tags

, , , , ,


Healing…

Prior to my Christian life, I had a real back problem. To keep it short, I suffered serious back pain most of the time. On one occasion, I’m in bed and I went into spasm, I couldn’t move. The only way I could get out of bed was to have my wife push me out onto the floor! Not nice I can tell you. So, a back sufferer who has trouble sleeping on anything…Right, on to the good stuff.

I was called into full-time ministry when I was forty. My wife and I were called up onto the platform on the Sunday evening and given ‘the word’ by a really well-known preacher. Part of the word was…”You shall cross seas to continents…” I’m thinking, well, You’ll have to heal my back Lord, I can’t sleep on anything…

The following morning, I was in the little boys room(!) where I had a bible stashed…I prayed, “Lord, this call is great, but I want something for me, a personal word from You for my life…” He gave me Proverbs 3, 21 to 26. I read it, and instantly noticed the part that says, when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet…

A short while after all this, a bunch of us were up on the Malvern Hills for a picnic. We ate well and it was a lovely sunny day. I got drowsy and so lay down with my head on a knapsack. The others all decided to go for a walk, but I was so comfortable, I decided not to go. I said to my wife, “You realise you are seeing a miracle…I’m laying on the ground with my head on a knapsack and I’m so comfortable I’m going to have a snooze!” She got it. I slept there on the hills knowing that God had healed my back in readiness for His call. HALLELUJAH! I have never had back trouble since, and everywhere He has sent me, my sleep has been sweet.

It’s good to live scripture.

