Tags

, ,


Wow, 67…Where does it go?

This has been a very full year for me, there’s been joy, way too much sadness and plenty of work, praise The Lord. So, in no particular order…

New friends…

Denis…Writes the most lovely songs, so easy to work on; the type of song that just draws inspiration out of you. We’ve been working on his album for a year now, and I’ll be sad when it’s finished: mainly cos I’ll miss his friendship, but also, I’ll miss breakfast at the cafe. We always start our day’s work with a slap-up at Oasis…Have been trying to think of ways to keep him coming (He lives up near Cannock, about an hour’s drive from me.) Not had much success as yet, but I’m not giving up that easily.

Peter, from Penzance has written a musical…Set in the 1950s. Boy, I’m having so much fun making this one: Hank Marvin/Duane Eddy guitar sounds, including the ‘tremolo arm’ (whammy bar in modern parlance). Guitar amps with ‘spring’ reverb and built in tremolo…Bop shuopps, the lot. This is another one I’m trying to stretch out. Peter is a fellow worship leader and a Cornish fisherman to boot. We don’t do breakfast, but we do do Indian…Either way, I’m blessed. He’s coming up for my birthday…Yippee.

Preaching again…

I’ve actually been asked to preach several times this year, at a little church in Kidderminster. I love it when The Lord sets me in front of His people, and gives me words of encouragement for them…I love being able to open scripture to them and see their faces light up when they learn more of God and His love…”Keep it coming Lord, and thanks Paul for letting me loose amongst your lambs.”

Aug 14th. A sad passing

I had the news today that my good friend John Acock, Bonnie, to his friends, has passed away. He had been ill for only a short time, the speed of it has shocked us all.

John was a fellow recording engineer and producer. We came from the same mould, though he was based in London and so made more of a name for himself than I did in the Midlands. Most recently, I did a few sessions with him at Yellow Shark in Cheltenham, he still had that certain touch with the desk, and his mic choices were always interesting to me. I was happy to be his gofa…I’ll miss him.

“John, it was an honour to know and work with you, you truly were one of nature’s gentlemen, and a talented engineer and friend. Goodbye for now, until we meet again in The Lord’s presence.” Col.

Jack…

I was invited to ‘Jack’s’ for Christmas day. If you’ve read my blogs, you’ll know all about Jack, and my friendship with him…He’s now 12 and very nearly as tall as his mom…Once again, the Sampson family blessed me…”Thanks guys.”

Jan 15th. A Better Place.

It’s one of the great things about Christianity…Hope. “We have a hope that is steadfast and certain…”  We also have a deposit and a guarantee…

Ephesians 1:13-14.  13. And you also were included in Christ when you heard the message of truth, the gospel of your salvation. When you believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, 14. Who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance until the redemption of those who are God’s possession—to the praise of his glory.  “It’s iron-clad, God can never go back on His word, HALLELUJAH!”

So, our dear friend Gill, who went to be with The Lord at 11am today, is now in a better place. Her long struggle against cancer is over, underneath are the everlasting arms.

“Farewell for now Gill, see you a bit later.” Col.

Yet more sadness…

The last ‘group’ I was in was, Light Fantastic. I was a member between the ages of 21 to 28 (1969-77). Had the sad news that Joe, the drummer, had passed away, shortly after his wife, Sylvia. Joe was a real character: he could talk anybody into, or out of anything! If we were away from home and needed bed and breakfast, in would go Joe, and he always came out with a deal. Playing at a big Cabaret club and needed some grub…Send Joe to the kitchen and a huge plate of sandwiches would soon arrive at the dressing room. Joe wasn’t the greatest drummer in the world, but then, none of the members of Light Fantastic were that great as musicians or singers, but together, we had something special, and Joe was part of what made it special. “Solong Joe…Have a great ride.” Col.

New songs…

A happening – 1.50 am Jan 10  2015

Wow, I awoke from a particularly nasty dream…Had to rebuke the devil and tell him to be gone in Jesus name. During the aftermath of all that, words started to arrive in my head…Odd words for me, but I knew it was The Lord, so I got out of bed and grabbed a pad and pen. The words flowed easily, as they do when it’s The Lord, and in 10 minutes I had it all written down…A Christmas Carol!!!! Anyone who knows me will confirm that I don’t like carols and refuse to play them…Bah humbug! “Really Lord, a Christmas carol…Me?”

So, The Lord has sent me another song—second in less than two weeks—I was in the kitchen minding my own business when the phrase, This is my Jesus, just popped into my head. I knew from past experience that this was God sending another ‘one’.  So, I dropped whatever it was I was doing and got stuck into writing a new song. It has had quite a profound effect on some as we’ve sung it in worship times: one team member has taken the lyrics out to use to encourage others…Another lady at church came and said, “It’s so easy to sing…” These things confirm that it really was God, and not ‘lil ole me’. I feel an album coming on.

So, 67 and going strong…Mostly! The fingers still work, as do the ears. I’m still leading worship and getting out for the odd preach. God is still good, Jesus is still Lord and I’m still heaven bound…

To all readers, “I pray God’s blessing on you.”

Colin.

