Tags

, , , ,


Picture a Child.
God’s view of us as we grow in Him.

Picture a child, so small and so weak.
New born and helpless, unable to speak.
Unable to stand, on legs that just bend.
This is the beginning, but it starts at the end.
The old life has gone, the new life has come,
a spirit once dormant, has met with My Son.

Picture a child, so scruffy and small.
Who bumps into all things, and stumbles and falls.
Who picks himself up with the aid of a chair,
and trips on a toy, not seeing it there.
The old life has gone, the new life has come,
a spirit once dormant, has met with My Son.

Picture a child of seven or eight.
Who rushes around, how could he be late?
He’s eager to learn all the things that he can.
Can’t wait for the day he becomes a man.
The old life has gone, the new life has come,
a spirit once dormant, has met with My Son.

Picture a child of teenage years,
who likes the sound of his voice in his ears.
Who’s learned a little, and knows a lot,
who’s really quite cool, but thinks he’s hot.
The old life has gone, the new life has come,
a spirit once dormant, has met with My Son.

Picture a man who’s young and strong,
His strength is sure, but the battle long.
He knows where he’s going, but not how far,
And so I guide him, like Bethlehem’s star.
The old life has gone, the new life has come,
a spirit once dormant, has met with My Son.

Picture a man with greying hair,
who’s been there and seen it, and hasn’t a care.
His wisdom has come from a lifelong walk,
with the God that he treasures, he knows how to talk.
The old life has gone, the new life has come,
a spirit once dormant, has met with My Son.

Picture all these, the young and the old,
as only I see them, the hot and the cold.
From newness of birth, till their dying day,
I love them, my children, each step of the way.
The old life has gone, the new life has come,
a spirit once dormant, now lives with My Son.

©1997 Colin Owen.

