Tags

, , , ,


Today, Bank Holiday Monday where I come from, I decided to visit my local town centre. As expected, not much was open, but a very good deli was, so I nipped in and had a sandwich and pot of Earl Grey…Very nice. Whilst enjoying my lunch, I noticed a poster about an exhibition of old photos, in the local Priory, about 100 yards from where I was sitting. I decided to go and see what it was all about.

On entering the Priory, the organ was playing…Being played you understand…Not playing all by itself! Anyway, a very nice chap came up and explained, in hushed tones, that there was an organ recital on, but I was free to wander around the church…So I did.

I have to say, the organist was incredible. I couldn’t see him, but I swear he had four hands and bionic legs…Anyway, I found the old photos of my town and walked slowly around looking at all the things that are no longer there, including the people. There was a slide show on at the side of the church so I took a seat and watched as photos of old places and people cross-faded on the screen. I must have been there for over an hour, just listening to the organ and watching the slide show. Maybe the combination of the music and pictures got to me, the pictures certainly did, but as I sat there watching these fleeting glimpses of the lives of people long dead, it moved me to think: we pass this way but once, and then we are gone. As the Bible puts it, we are like flowers that bloom today and tomorrow we fade away (my rendition). The Bible also says, “What is man that You are mindful of him…”

God is mindful of each of us, however short our life-span. How wonderful is that!

