Tags

, , ,


Yep, it’s been and gone–again! Christmas that is. I don’t know about you, but it kinda sneaks up on me…One of the perks of not having TV. Last year was just such a time…It came and went and I hardly noticed it. Living alone has minus points sometimes.

So, this year, it crept up again. I had nothing in readiness for the celebration, except a pot of Brandy Butter that I had seen on the shelf at Lidl, and bought. Not to put too fine a point on it, finances right now don’t allow for Christmas. O well.

Then the phone rang and it was my good friend Carol, saying that her husband (why is that word not in my spell checker dictionary?) Gareth, was inviting me to dinner on Christmas Day. Wow, what a blessing: physically, spiritually and financially!

At my church, we have a short meeting on Christmas Day starting at 10am. As soon as I walked through the door everything changed, and suddenly, it was Christmas. I really enjoyed that meeting and went home with a very different attitude to the one I’d come out with.

Arriving at the Sampson family home at one, I was told by Gareth to “make myself at home,” and I instantly became one of the family. This is all the more surprising as Carol is my ex-wife! How many men out there would be so gracious?

The day was wonderful, a real blessing, and a great illustration of the true meaning of Christmas. It’s what it’s all about…Giving to others.

For God so loved the world that He gave His only Son, that whosoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have everlasting life.

Yes, I celebrated the gift of my Saviour on Christmas Day, but I also rejoice in the goodness that was shown to me by a family, sharing with someone who would have otherwise been alone.

