Tags

, , ,


Divorce always has been a dirty word in church. There are two sides to it, and I can see both. No one in their right mind wants Christians to divorce, it’s an act of selfishness and nothing to do with God. Truly, it has no place in God’s kingdom and would never happen if we kept to the maker’s hand book, (Ok, the Bible to those who haven’t heard as many sermons as me!). In this case, stigma can play a positive role.

Still, it does happen, and here I have experience. Twice, I’ve been rejected by wives, and the first one took my two daughters with her. All is forgiven, so this is not a grudge post. The thing is, people who have been divorced can feel like second class citizens. It’s almost as if divorce is the unforgivable sin, which, of course, it isn’t. It’s tragic, but it is forgivable. When I got married the second time, our pastor would not marry us in church, but he did give us a blessing in church! How daft is that? I use the word daft, but it should be stronger than that…

So, the divorced party gets it in the neck both ways. Rejected by the misses, and ‘looked’ at in church. Well, I’m here to tell you that there is a way of escape. The Bible confirms that Jesus said, “Never will ‘I’ leave you, never will ‘I’ forsake you.” And as we all know, Jesus keeps His promises. So, fellow divorcees, be of good cheer. We are not second class citizens, we are not rejected, we are not forsaken, we are not alone. Jesus is with us, for us and in us. He will NEVER divorce us.

Hallelujah!

